We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $11.99 USD  or more

    You own this


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    A1 –Earnest Jackson Joy And Affection (vocal) 2:41
    A2 –Earnest Jackson Hogwash 2:13
    A3 –Earnest Jackson Love And Happiness 4:53
    A4 –Earnest Jackson Funky Black Man 2:48
    A5 –George Perkins Groove Making 3:55
    A6 –George Perkins Ooh Wee Baby I Love You 2:18
    B1 –Earnest Jackson Joy And Affection (instrumental) 2:31
    B2 –Underground Express (2) I Never Found A Girl (To Love Me The Way You Do) 3:30
    B3 –George Perkins What The Deal Is 3:01
    B4 –Black Blood & The Chocolate Pickles Mississippi Mud 3:37
    B5 –Black Blood & The Chocolate Pickles Angela 3:36
    B6 –Black Blood & The Chocolate Pickles That's Henry (Part 1) 3:16
    B7 –Black Blood & The Chocolate Pickles That's Henry (Part 2) 3:20

    Includes unlimited streaming of Funky Funky Baton Rouge via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    8 remaining
    Purchasable with gift card

      $24.99 USD or more 

    You own this  




Funky Delicacies continues with its program of anthologies devoted to the funk capitals of America with Funky Funky Baton Rouge. Baton Rouge shone in the national spotlight for one brief moment, with Ernest Jackson's cover of Al Green's "Love and Happiness." For years known solely for its blues scene (Tabby Thomas et al) and pop hitmaker John Fred and His Playboys, this anthology documents a thriving funk scene. The Baton Rouge sound coalesced around Stone Records, producer Ronnie Shaab, the rhythm section Cold Grits, and the studio Deep South which here are represented by the Earnest Jackson tracks (a C.P. Love track from that axis will be featured on the CD). Other somewhat more raggedy but appealing tracks include the attempts at funk by hitmaker George Perkins, known for deep southern soul ballads "Cryin' in the Streets" (see Night Train CD 7130, Cryin' in the Streets). Perkins is here represented with his cover of the Freddy Hughes soul gem "Ooh Wee Baby I Love You." From the far end of any spectrum is Black Blood and the Chocolate Pickles, who seem to collect from unbelievably disparate corners of black music tradition a sound that had the militancy of 70s black music with the ancientness of chitlin circuit theater. Funk fans will be enriched for the music contained herein.


released May 12, 2016


all rights reserved



Tuff City Records New York, New York

Originally rooted in hip-hop, Tuff City has transitioned its focus toward rescuing thousands of blues, jazz, funk, soul and R&B treasures from obscurity, thus creating several specialized reissue imprints devoted to music of the highest caliber.

contact / help

Contact Tuff City Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account